Cruising! Day 41

Today I knocked out 25 miles! And it felt good! I only left camp this morning at 9am, taking my time and enjoying the peace and quiet. I knew I wanted to try do 25 miles again but today there was less altitude gain. 

The morning started out fantastic! The weather was perfect, birds everywhere and amazing scenery. I even made a video!

Last night I remember looking at that crossing and thinking thank goodness that’s tomorrow’s problem. Everything looks better in the morning. Like the hill I see I have to climb tomorrow morning! Lol.

In the afternoon the trail got a lot more snowy and once again it was a battle between flooded paths and snowed over trails! I missed a turn once and ended up doing a quarter mile extra and I definitely had to make my own path sometimes but all in all today had been far easier than yesterday.

On a side note, you find the most bizarre things along the trail. Anyone fancy some baseball at 9000ft?

I’m camped near a river and there ​is someone else camped here too (he took the good camp spot) but I haven’t met whoever it is because they haven’t emerged from their tent. Even the fire I got going did not entice them out. 

I was so cold and wet when I arrived that a fire seemed the only option. I realise in the video there​ is no circle of stones around the fire but the ground was sodden and I was around the fire the entire time so that fire was going no where. In the morning I’ll bury the ashes and no one will know it was there.

One thought on “Cruising! Day 41

Leave a comment