The day that wasn’t the day after

This morning we all had a wonderful sleep in, no one set an alarm so we only woke up at 7! 

We aimed to do 18 miles and hike over the highest point on the CDT, the summit of Grey’s. There were a few different options to take, two of them meant going down into the valley and hiking back up again and the third was to follow the ridge line. We opted for following the ridge and staying high. That meant that we didn’t go below 12 000ft the whole day! It was also the tougher route as we went up and down the entire day, instead of once. I’m going to have to put up a graph of our altitude changes today.

We finally saw some of the famous mountain goats and in fact ran into a while family of them that didn’t seem in the least bit phased by us. 

A short while later I started noticing a build up of could and then thunder rumbling. This was just before we were about to reach another peak on the ridge walk. Instead mudslide and I (party saver was ahead of us) had to head down. I was using my poles to point out the direction of the storm and next thing my hand was getting little shocks from the pole. When I lowered the pole, the shock went away. The whole area was charged with electricity! Definitely good reason to head down! Suddenly the wind picked up and it started pouring with rain. Mudslide and I huddled under his plastic ground sheet to keep the rain off and watched as the storm slowly passed over us. Thankfully there wasn’t too much more thunder and lightning!

At last I admitted that I would be able to summit Grey’s today. It was just too much for me. I’ve decided to do it in the morning. Mudslide and I climbed one more insane mountain before calling it a day and setting up camp. Nothing like ending the day with 1400ft gain in 1 mile! I even looked up at the slope wondering if it was possible to hike. Turns out it was but it was tough.

One thought on “The day that wasn’t the day after

  1. Fascinating but dangerous experience with the electricity through your pole. That’s a huge altitude change for a girl who’s lived at sea level most of her life. Well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

